After the Great Release Program — Week One


004

After the Great Release Challenge – Week One

by Silver RavenWolf copyright 2012

For me, the day after the new year always brings a sigh of relief.  The whirlwind schedule of activities, dinners, parties…done!  Our Great Release Challenge?  Done!  I sat on the front porch, a cold eye on the thermometer – the temps in the twenties.  Definitely a bit on the bitter side.

Sipping my coffee, I thought about what I should be doing next, while at the same time reviewing the last thirty days.  My mind wandered over how thoughts truly become reality, and how, once again, one should be mindful of what one thinks and what one says aloud.  This year, I stressed the Sea of Potential that exists around us, and how by purposefully utilizing that power you can manifest what you need.  By practicing the exercise given in the program each day, you learned just how amazing life can be by utilizing this knowledge.  The exercise takes you to the door of your personal power and opens it – showing you that the reality you desire can and will unfold.

As with all things of the mind, learning first that you really do have control and then understanding how that power applies to your own life can be…interesting. Many people have a taste of the knowledge, and then quickly walk away.  “Oh no!” they say, “I am in no way responsible for that event!  It was circumstance, coincidence, or the result of someone else’s actions.  Magick is not that easy.  It simply can’t be.”

But, it is.

As I have often mentioned, as I write the Great Release Program each year, I also do it.  That means that when I write about cleaning the bathroom, or organizing shelving, or clearing out the shed – I’m doing it at the same time.  This way, I have an idea about how much I can get done in one day, and what can happen to distract you from a task.  I observe the way my family reacts to different challenges, and whether or not they want to jump on board with the program, when they get bored and want to give up, or what kind of resistance or acceptance I receive.  By the time the program is done, everything suggested, I’ve done right along with you.

Except this year.

Don’t panic.  It was only one day.  And it did get done.  In a very strange way.

At the beginning of the program I sat down on that same front porch with my coffee, and said to myself, “This year I don’t want to be so stressed while writing the program.  I want plenty of time each day to write with focus.  I know I need to get the blog entries up the day before because I have people all over the world doing the program, which means there is a big time variation between my time and their time.  What I want most of all this year is peace and quiet while I work on the program.”

Ah-hem.

On Day Four of the program, I finished my blog entry, left the house, and motored into town.  I’d promised my son I’d mail a package to him and I needed to do a few other errands.  As I left the post office, I vacillated on going to get gas, or going to pick up my granddaughter for her karate lesson.  Although I had enough gas to get where I needed to go, the weather report hadn’t been favorable and I didn’t want to be in traffic in bad conditions and run out of gas.  I decided to go to the pump first, mussing to myself that cleaning your vehicle was one of our program topics during the month and how on that day I would be really busy cleaning up my car.  You know how those thoughts zoom through your mind, you acknowledge them, and then your brain skips to the next track.

Sigh.

I pull into the parking lot.  I see pump number nine is open.  I drive forward toward the pump and BOOM!  What the?  I blinked.  Several times.  A guy leaning against a Ford F-350 at pump number eight started walking toward my car.  “Hey, Lady!  Are you okay?”

I blinked again.  My brain said – What the hell just happened?  My mouth said, “I think I’m fine.”

I looked to my right, only to discover that a young lady had plowed into the passenger side of my car.

You gotta be kidding me.

She’s outside of her vehicle, prancing around like a reindeer, wailing about her fate, am I okay? And how this wasn’t her car, she’d borrowed it because she blew out the tire on her own car this morning.

I wanted to say, “Perhaps the universe was trying to tell you to stay the hell home, you dumb ****”.  But, I didn’t.  Instead, I said, “I’m fine.  It will be okay.”

Argh in a handbasket, you know?

Shaking head.  Many, many times.

December is not the best time to have car repairs completed.  Snow storms delay parts, parties delay workers, and so, throughout the entire month of December, I had lots and lots of time to finish my program.  The Witch in the Woods without wheels stays in the woods, writing, cleaning, and cooking.

I didn’t mention the accident during the program on purpose.  I decided to let the entire incident play out, and see what became of it.  Eventually, right before the first of the year, I got my car back, in mint condition, and detailed.  That’s right.  The car repair shop felt so bad for taking so long, they cleaned my car inside and out, and it looks brand new.  I didn’t miss the vehicle challenge day, it was just a little late getting it completed – by someone else.

Once again I was reminded about the power of our thoughts – about how you fix your fate with what you think, and the choices you make.  Although the situation was highly irritating, I wasn’t hurt and I didn’t think of it as this awful, terrible thing.  I knew darned well what thoughts I’d put into the sea of potential, and what I got back.  Taking responsibility for what you think, even though it pisses you off at yourself, is the first step in understanding the vast power that surges around you every single day, every single moment.

So, this morning, while I’m contemplating what I want to do next, I’m reminded to channel my thoughts wisely.  I’m going to spend the day finishing leftover projects from December and make some Dragons Blood candles to help me move forward.

And I’m going to remember to be mindful of what I think and what I say aloud.

Yes indeed!
How about you?

Peace with the Gods
Peace with Nature
Peace Within.

Silver

32 thoughts on “After the Great Release Program — Week One”

  1. I fell a bit behind at the end, so my goals for the moment are to get finished up with the challenges of last month and to work on my physical and mental routine. Being a stay at home mom has benefits and challenges of it’s own, and the one I find easiest to get behind on is taking care of my self. I can put that off infinitely…I can’t put off the cooking and cleaning (thank goodness I have allergies or I would try to put off the cleaning!).

    I have tried to get more physical several times now and normally I can get going for a couple of weeks, then something comes up and the momentum is lost and it takes me weeks and weeks to build back up to getting motivated.

  2. The week after the Great Release was over, I made myself smile often as whenever I felt stressed or severely irratated, I would do a 5 minute quick clean. The first couple of times, I didn’t even pay attentio to the fact that, that was how I was coping. Then it just hit me what I was doing! All irratation, at that moment of realization left me and I cracked up! Really? Am I so easily programmable? The facts would seem to point to “yes”. You have given me so many powerful majickal tools to use the rest of the year. Thank you again Silver.

  3. Hi Silver I. Wanted to say that the mind is very powerful sure I have tools n altars but they can’t be magickal till enpowered by the mind. I’m a strong believer that we create our own good n our own bad n its how u overcome the obstacles off the bad. Most all I do is done with the mind. I heal people n self heal myself with the mind n I also want to say ur release is great for people n it guides them see I believe only people can help themselves but with the right guidance it can go a long way you are such an inspiration n a wonderful person n after all uve been thru u still do the release challenge n wow amazing its a blessing n someone once said to me u can lead a horse to water but u can’t make him drink well u can make him tempted cus the cool water is there n the peace n love is there so u never know n yes mind hea

  4. Sorry Silver got cut off lol but yes the mind is the most powerful tool of all so is heart n soul n spirit well I could go on n on so I will end this here Blessed Be to you and your loved ones.btw its sunny out here I will send some sun to ur town to keep everyone in it warm Love and Light always ur friend Paul in Az May the Lord and Lady always watch over you n all ur loved ones.Peace n Happiness BB

  5. Things got a bit out of hand here with me as person, for some reason I’m irritated with everyone and everything. Still find myself doing the Sea of Potential the moment I lay down at night, (if, or, when I do go to bed). I guess I’m just a bit tired. But I stick to the Morning Ritual, I find I need to do it, the moment I get out of bed. I cant get to all the housework, everyone just demands my attention, some days it feel as if I have to think for 6 people, myself included. Since the programs finished I feel a bit lost. But I KNOW it’ll get better soon. Mom have to go back tomorrow, it’s sad to see her all confused, and I’m worried about her, actually Silver it breaks my heart. But I know they will look well after her.

    A big thank you again, for all you’ve done for me. And I’ll keep a to do list for every week from now on to keep me on track, it helps to have structure in your life.
    ( and I’ll move that bathroom cabinet once a week, before there’s a hairy dust bunny orgy behind there again, brrrrr.) And I’ll remember, to think only positive thoughts, if you believe somethings going to be OK it will be.

    1. Just one thing that I’m wondering about, why did I suddenly get this burning urge to burn a protection candle for you on the 29th?

    2. You are truly Blessed, if, and i don’t like to use the if word, you’d pick up your grandchild and then went for gas, she might have gotten hurt. Kids have powerful protectors. Rather the car than the child.

  6. Silver, I respect so much of what you do for the community(I believe i’ve made that clear many times :j ), in a nuts and bolts way, but, again, disagree with the framing that we, and we alone, are creating every single thing that happens in our human walk. The boon side to that view is that, obviously, it is Empowering, to the extent that it is true, we control our own choices, actions, and reactions. The shadow side to it, however, is that it can cause harm to those already worn down by their situation(s), as well as it’s also actually just very narcissistic. There is a middle place between owning one’s power, and taking responsibility and accountability for what you CAN do, and the perhaps unintentional shame-blame-game of, as Paul said, “we create our own good n our own bad”, and the mathematics of that equaling if bad shit is happening, it’s because said person has created it.

    Here are two wonderful articles I just saw on twitter, relating to exactly this:
    http://www.ukskeptics.com/article.php?dir=articles&article=Blaming_the_victim.php

    http://www.juliaingram.com/Common_Ground.html

  7. Glad you were unhurt and that your car came back bright spanking new! The sea of potentiality is a very very awesome space.

    You’re right, about focus, and just about everything else. Only for me it’s not just positives and negatives. For oh, how the body is willing when the spirit is weak! All during the highly stressed holiday season (moving, end of the term grading, two major projects due the first week of January) I focused on getting things done and treating myself one-cupcake-at-a-time. Whaddayamean you are what you eat? Yup, I gots me a nice muffin top to start 2013!

    Aah, I can read between the lines of your post Silver… It’s time I shift the focus to lacing up the old running shoes and hitting the trails. Eyez a nature witch, right? Time to get out there and huff and puff my New Yar’s mantra: A little sweat for each regret, Bit by bit, get strong and fit!

  8. Wow, that was some journey you took to clean your car. Mine was a lot easier. I brought a dust buster and removed some clutter, washed the windows, vacuumed and dusted my car. Umm…. I prefer my way to yours.

    Thoughts and words are very powerful. I chant the Braucherei Morning Ritual every morning. That chant really speaks to me. Most of the time I chant these words in the morning before I leave my home for work. One morning I decided to go outside to a sacred space I found and chant. During the chant a mist encircled me and I felt the touch of the Goddess. After that, every morning I faithfully chant the Morning Ritual. I like this Ritual because I feel comforted and I have power when facing my day.

    And I am going to be mindful of what I think and say.

  9. Ugh, I’m glad you weren’t hurt. 😮 And that this didn’t turn into anything, well, worse. Unpleasant, yes, but nothing worse.
    It IS amazing how the mind works! And it’s the thing we may forget most easily.
    To me the car challenge was a bit of a funny one. When I read about it I was like… right, I don’t own a car, am I supposed to clean the train I take to work on a daily basis? It was a bit of a joke and I thought I’d just look for something else to do (not that I wouldn’t have enough to work on :D).
    Thing is… when I got on the train in the morning and sat down (yay, I got a seat!) there was a can on the mini table that someone had been too lazy to throw away. So I snagged it and threw it into the bin.
    On the way back from work, the same thing happened, I sat down only to see some beer can standing on the mini table. Again, I threw it into the bin.
    Now this isn’t like a BIG thing to do, but I can say that to 99% there never is anything on the mini tables when I take the train.
    So… there… I tidied the train. Sort of. 🙂

  10. The challenge is done but I continue to say the Braucherei and the Sea of Potential each morning before I start my day. Got a list of things to accomplish in 2013 and I recite my 20 words to remind me of the things I feel are important. 2013 is going to be a great year for me. Bright Blessings Terry
    PS: Silver I tried to find the free pattern you had on your site for the ‘Cat” prayer doll. Is there any way I can get that pattern – would love to make it for a really good friend that is a cat lover.

  11. One of my thoughts through the last month’s challenge was ‘How does she do all this, especially, the part about getting us ready to go on?’ I think you are truly amazing.

    I only started following you at the end of December, and look forward to continuing to do so.

    Peace and Love, Hope and Joy!

  12. Silver, is there a reason my post was deleted? I spent the full month of December, participating as part of the community(and longer, actually..), and it would be very disappointing to find that my voice is being edited out of the conversation, based on me asking you simple questions, or holding different opinions to yours. Am I to take it that having a different view is not allowed in your space?

    1. No one deleted your post. WordPress works on a system where posts, particularly new ones, have to be approved. I am not online every day, so sometimes posts will sit in que for a few days to a few weeks. Posts are not deleted if you disagree, unless you use foul language, or try to use this blog as a soap box, or use my name in a negative way to get attention for yourself. We were delighted to read your comments, and continue to urge you to be creative and thoughtful in your self expression and daily life.

      1. Thank you for replying, and I am sincerely happy to hear that. FYI, it wasn’t based on me assuming the worst(not my cuppa)- usually when my post is in queue, it shows on my side that it is awaiting moderation, and for whatever reason, my first comment showed that for a couple of days,on my end,and then disappeared altogether, as other comments continued to come in, in real time. I came back to ask, because it was registering as deleted, as well as you hadn’t responded to a similar question I had asked, in relation to my first, above comment, so didn’t know if they were connected, and you were feeling rubbed the wrong way. I had a hard time conceiving that you would delete my message,but wasn’t sure, as lack of communication lead to a lack of clarity on my end. Thank you for the graciousness in the tone of your response, and my apologies if mine sounded more accusatory than inquisitive.

  13. I was so happy to find this post after the Release Challenge. I got completely caught up in a round of social events after the 21st, then my laptop screen broke and so I can just get to the Internet cafe ocassionally to check the Blog. I hope to have the laptop repaired within the next week but I am now going through the house like a whirlwind to declutter. wipe, dust and remove negativity. The more I let go of the more space I make for the new. I am so happy that I got to be a part of this program. Long may it continue!! Blessings and love to all.

    1. Valerie. I’m so glad to see you’re back, Eldiga and I burned some candles for you, we had your back. Sending you a great many wishes.

  14. Silver;
    I am just now finding your Great Lease Program… Do you think its to late to do or is that up to me, or does it have to do with the time of year? Also was it done between particular moon phases? I really look forward to seeing your next year’s release program.

Leave a Reply

