Great Release Challenge! — Day 30 — Sunday


Great Release Challenge – Day 30 — Sunday
by Silver RavenWolf
copyright 2012

Part of the purpose of the Great Release Challenge is to help you work through issues by combining organization and creativity.  One of the hardest parts of the program for me, is finding where to put the stuff.  Having lived with a hoarder for many years, I can totally understand the frustration of trying to organize something that, on the surface, looks impossible while at the same time, you are battling the inner demons that created the mess in the first place.  You feel defeated before you even begin.  It literally took us years to unload, bit by bit, trash bag by trash bag, dumpster load by dumpster load.  My husband and I know all too well how lots of stuff can hide serious structural problems in the environment.  A small leak turns into a rotted floor.  Too much weight in an unsupported area can damage an entire room.  When all the junk was removed we realized the horrendous amount of money it would take to make all the necessary repairs.  Depression, sickness and chronic illness can also play havoc with your organization skills and abilities, sapping your inner strength to where you may feel you can never emerge from the chaos…

But, you can.

You  may have begun this program with a horrendous amount of clutter and junk, or you might have begun with a bit of a mess; but nothing too earth shaking.  Regardless of your situation, the program is designed to help you get motivated and combine body, mind, and spirit to accomplish your desires so that throughout the new year, you now have the necessary tools to keep working toward your goals.  Many folks who have worked through the winter program in years past developed their own summer program that includes more outdoor functions.  You can do that, too!

In our last two days, we’re working on either something on your Wish List, or an area of the home, apartment, or office, that you haven’t touched due to the busy holidays in combination with all the other projects we’ve been completing.  This may be the area where you dumped everything that didn’t belong where you were working, and were just too busy to come up with a storage solution.  If you don’t have an area like this – that’s fine.  For you, I’d like you to walk through your living area and determine which places seem to naturally gather clutter.  You will work on solutions for those places.

For me, my area will be the craft/office room.  As I mentioned in other posts, I’ve been chipping away at this room for the past thirty days.  I’ve done fairly well.  When we first moved here in the fall, everything that didn’t have a place, was dumped in this room.  Argh!  There were many days that I only removed one or two things from this room.  Other days, I managed to get rid of entire boxes of stuff.  Hobbies, I’ve noticed, have a tendency to expand, creeping through the entire house if you are not careful.  Sort of like a loveable blob.

smallstorage

I did begin the practice of putting my hobby materials away after every session, relegating their placement only to this room by the time the day was done, regardless of what I’d been doing.  With the help of my daughter, all storage vehicles are now labeled, which helps when I flip from one type of project to another.  Eventually, I will have the room under control!

I was finally able to arrange the shelving units!
I was finally able to arrange the shelving units!

This year, I learned that whenever I become frustrated with just about anything, to take the time to do a three-minute speed cleansing.  I’ll light a white candle and carry it around the room I’m working in, or I’ll use the jingle jar, a rattle, or bless water and place the cup, glass or bowl in the center of the room.  I’ve discovered that this small practice depletes my negativity and helps me keep moving forward.  Give it a try yourself!  You’ll see an amazing difference right away.  If you have an unfinished project that has been molding over there in the corner, drag it out, move it to a different location, clean the area where it was sitting, and then cleanse the item with blessed water or sweet sound.  This will help to instill renewed interest in the project.  If, in thirty days, you haven’t finished that project, there is probably some emotional issue attached to it.  Be honest with yourself and figure out why you have not moved forward.  “I don’t have the time,” is not a good excuse.  If you really wanted to finish (for real) you would have made the time.  Why didn’t you?  Honor your answer.

Summary:

(1)   Do your Morning Braucherei Ritual and light your goal candle.

(2)   Do Today’s Challenge.

(3)   Practice your Sea of Potential Exercise

(4)   Try a three-minute-speed cleansing when you are frustrated on angry.

(5)   Get ready for tomorrow!

Tomorrow:  Closing

Give yourself One Gold Star if you remembered to do your morning ritual.  Two gold stars if you completed today’s challenge.  Three gold stars if you did a speed cleansing exercise.  Four gold stars if you deep cleaned anything.  Five gold stars if you actually remembered to reward yourself during this program.

Peace with the Gods
Peace with Nature
Peace Within.

Silver

19 thoughts on “Great Release Challenge! — Day 30 — Sunday”

  1. Melanie and Sue- did my full moon ritual last night. I dressed warm, threw my cloak on and sat in the center of my very snow covered garden. I wrote both your names in the snow with a quartz point and sent energy for health, wealth and happiness (because I don’t know what you need). Since it is still like the arctic north here, your names will be there , lending you that energy until it melts.

  2. O.o while i was reading this post just now, my youngest said to me “Mom, look what just flew in the window”. He sits right behind my back playing games, facing the window….. at first glance I thought it was a bat, the thing is huge, (got ready to wet myself). Its a moth, a beautiful moth, with eyes on her wings, she sits right above my PC at the moment, near the ceiling. Ill post a photo on Facebook.

    Association = sending and receiving messages.

    😀

  3. Thank you for helping us all get the really down and dirty things done. It was a wonderful 30 days of adventures in doing the shadow side of housework.
    Love and blessings.

  4. I’ve been working through the great release challenge all month. Some days were tough and some were fairly easy. A few unusual things occurred because I participated in this program, I’m thinking. One was sad. My neighbor who lived right below me (I live in an apartment complex) died during the program. What was unusual about this was that I felt her leave this plane. I didn’t talk to her much, so I didn’t know she was sick. I had no idea that she was dying. I didn’t know that she was taken to the hospital on Dec 19 either. We would only said hi as we past each other in the breezeway. The night of Dec 20 was weird for me. I was tossing and turning all night. I couldn’t fall asleep, which is unusual for me because I’m a sleeper. I was so frustrated. I kept thinking what is going on, why am I so uncomfortable. Then as a last resort I decided to meditate. In meditation, (I’m making this brief) the Goddess came to me and held me. She told me that everything was going to be ok and that She loved me. I fell asleep immediately afterwards. A few days later I was talking to my other neighbor and she told me that the woman who lived beneath me had died. I asked her what day did she past and she told me the 21st. I grabbed my neighbor’s arm and said “Oh my, I felt her past!” When I went back into my apartment, I looked around my clean and blessed home. Then I dropped my eyes to my floor and looked down into the apartment below. When I looked back to the night of Dec 20 I see now what happened. Because my home was clean and bless I could feel my neighbor’s vibration beneath me. That night her vibration changed and I felt it. I didn’t know what I was feeling at the time, so I was like a five year in my room calling for my mother and asking what was going on. Mother responded to my call and comforted me without telling me what was happening outside my room. She knew I would find out later. I didn’t know my neighbor in the physical world, but I know her in the spiritual plane. After this experience, I am present to how we are all connected and that we impact each other even if we don’t know each other in the physical world.

    Well that was heavy, and I don’t know how to end this comment. I will say that after this challenge I am looking at my world very differently.

      1. Bianco, I’ve been including you in my morning ritual every morning. Sending joy in your direction.

  5. The one room I have not worked on is the laundry room. I did all the laundry, ironing, and then I concentrated on the task of wiping down the storage stand between the washer and utility sink. I wiped down the shelf that runs the whole length of the top of the washer and dryer. Cleaned out the vent that collects lint in the dryer and then moved on to the mopping of the tile floor.

    I then said this blessing:

    I bless this laundry room where things get clean

    When all is done – the space just gleams

    Blessed Be

    Note:Yesterday I went to Blue Moon and treated myself with 20 small 1/2 inch diameter altar candles in an array of colors, 2 candle holders, and some incense.

    1. I love your blessing/charm/chant, as well. What a beautiful way to celebrate a “challenging” space. 🙂

  6. I feel this challenge has been such a HUGE blessing. I have been able to release so much and am so grateful. The basement… well, that’s a story unto itself. It’s like a storage area for everything I don’t want to deal with. I thought I was almost done when I found a huge storage container, filled to the brim with I-have-no-idea-what. So I still have work to do.

    I am so glad you called us on our “I don’t have time” excuse. You are 100% right. If it was important, we would find the time. I know I did. The rest of my house looks amazing ( still have one more cupboard in the kitchen to address – just needs reorganization and can be a 15 minute tidy ). So there’s no reason the basement still isn’t finished except that I know there are a few boxes down there I just don’t want to deal with. I have to do it. I know that. I will do it. I promised myself I would. So it will get done.

    I was a little down because I may not finish “in time” but took a break and went through my journal to remind myself of all that I have accomplished. 10 bags of garbage tossed and 19 bags/boxes donated/gifted! I have two more bags of items to donate ( with more to come, I am sure ) and probably more than a couple additional bags of garbage to send on it’s way. I HAVE to be pretty proud of that.

    Thank you again so much for guiding us through the process and for offering this challenge. I know how much work you put into it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

