Great Release Challenge — Day 19 — Wednesday!


Day19

Winter Solstice is Friday, 21 December, when the Sun enters Capricorn at 6:12 AM EST or 3:12 AM PST.  The 2nd Quarter Moon will be in Aries.

Today’s Challenge involves going through your CD’s, DVD’s, Tapes, and Computer Software.  You may have some, none, or a whole heck of a lot.  Listen to music that inspires you while you sort or put on one of your favorite movies.  If you are short on cash, you might try taking the DVD’s and games to a store that will give you cash or a trade for them.  You can also give away what no longer interests you.  This summer, before the move I sold half of my DVD collection and gave away almost all my VCR tapes to different individuals who I knew would enjoy them.  Some of the DVD’s went to a flea market seller, some I sold on Ebay, and my daughter-in-law took the remainder to a shop that trades movies for cash.  Of the three selling venues, I received better value for my DVD’s through the shop.

The other day I replied to a post that mentioned how much a family member hated the holiday season because of the monetary difficulties they were experiencing.  I can so relate to that.  Over the years, raising four children, taking care of my father…hardship was not unfamiliar.  I replied that I finally woke up and realized that it is the memories you make, not the money you spend, that can provide a strong, supportive memory that your family, friends, and children will keep in their hearts later on in life.  I bring this up now, because when the VCR first hit the market and you could actually buy movies, this was a big thing in our family.  Every Yule my husband and I would look for a special movie that we thought our children would enjoy.  We would have a movie night, complete with popcorn, drinks, candy, pizza, and assorted munchies.  One of the “big” movies was Roger Rabbit.  The other night, one of the television stations aired it while my daughter was here with her daughter.  “I so remember movie night at Yule,” my daughter said as she eagerly sat down in front of the television holding her daughter in her lap.  “It was so special.”

If you make a positive memory, then you have reached the alchemist’s dream of unlimited gold.

List of Who Framed Roger Rabbit characters
Who Framed Roger Rabbit (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Tomorrow:  Your Bedroom!

Summary:

(1)   Do your Morning Braucherei Ritual and light your goal candle.

(2)   Do Today’s Challenge associated with cleaning, clearing and arranging CD’s, DVD’s, and Computer Software.

(3)   If you can, add your Speed Cleaning Activity

(4)   Get ready for tomorrow!

Give yourself One Gold Star if you remembered to do your morning ritual.  Two gold stars if you completed today’s challenge of cleaning and sorting your DVD’s, Tapes, CD’s or computer software.  Three gold stars if you worked on a mental/spiritual technique to create peace in your life.  Four gold stars if you did something from your Wish List.  Five gold stars if you squeezed in a speed cleaning challenge!

Peace with the Gods
Peace with Nature
Peace Within.

Silver

18 thoughts on “Great Release Challenge — Day 19 — Wednesday!”

  1. You know, that thought hit me last week as I was having a small nervous breakdown. I stopped in my tracks and realized that I was actually beginning to ruin the holiday for everyone by stressing out. I have been working on not doing that. You are absolutely right about making the most of the time with your family and friends. Being a holiday victim is no fun for anyone. Imagine the people in Connecticut. There are bigger problems than not having a great budget for the holidays. The attitude of gratitude is my mantra right now.

  2. Hey, we’re not underwater any more! 😉 (looking forward to hearing the mojo significance of the change!)

  3. Hi Silver this is valuable insight you are giving there have been many a time I didn’t have the money to get gifts for the family but somehow that spending time is more a pot of gold then the money.I wrote poems for some of my family cooked dinner for them had good convos n great quality time. I learned u don’t know what u got till its gone n if moneys gone its ok I know things get better but u can’t always get back what’s closest to your heart n that’s family.I cherish this more than any material thing in the world nothing is more precious than that n I thank the lord and lady so all of us prosper and do the right thing. Hope all is well Silver ur friend Paul in Az

    1. Wonderful thoughts, Paul. Last night I baked my daughter’s favorite cake as she is stressing over the holiday season. Time, warmth, and a little confectionery love can go a long way.

  4. Hello Silver, you are so correct about the important things in life are family. I have four children who are grown and out of the house. I am lucky enough to have two of my grandchildren come over to catch the bus every day. It brings back memories of those precious times. We never had much money then, but we had our traditions that my own kids are carrying on with their kids. Traditions like new pajamas they opened before Santa came. My youngest son told me he would love to have new pjs to open this year. 🙂 That made me smile. Watching Merry Christmas Charley Brown while eating warm sugar cookies and drinking hot chocolate. Money isn’t so tight these days, but I would trade all the money just to have one of those precious times back. We still have traditions that make me smile, but when your children are little it is such a majickal time to share. Wow, this sounds quite melancholy, and I didn’t mean it that way. I have always enjoyed the company of children because I am still just a big kid myself. I have to tell you that this challenge has kept me focused and sane this holiday season. Conversations like this remind me what is really important. Thank you. Blessings to you and your loved ones.

  5. tis’ the season to be jolly! well, beleive it or not,,,i dont have any cd’s dvd’s or vcr tapes sooooooooo i gotta pick something else……..I KNOW!!! im at work right now but when i get home, i have the next 3 days off, so ill get rid of all ,peices of leather, peices of weed eater string, a rusty pitchfork, a broken shovel handle. lots of stuff that needs just to be straightened or gotten rid of. woo hoo.

  6. So true, we used to came up with all kinds of ideas, to make happy memories, especially when the kids were small and money extra tight. But hey we survived, we used to move a lot because of my hubby’s work sending him to different sites every few years, so it was only our small family unit most of the time, and sometimes we moved into a new town over Christmas so the kid’s couldn’t make new friends until the schools started in January. But we always remembered to say thank you that he had a work at least, we never take anything for granted. Now two of my kids are grownups and have jobs of their own, although they are still living with us, the youngest will be in grade 8 next year. It was always so nice to see them thankful when dad gave a wooden toy, or i made my daughter a doll out of remnant pieces of material, i used to dress them with the same material i made her clothes with….. oh wow i am going back a long time now, but the point is, as all of you say its the memories that count, and one heck of a sense of humor.

    I sorted the DVDs the day with the gym equipment, a lot of them found new homes along with the old video cassettes (lol never new i still had some of those). Hubby decided we need shade at the back door so we’ve been running around for roll-bolts and shade netting (he thinks he’s gonna park the car there, but i already see potential for my plants….. 😀 ). Then i raked some plums (again), picked some fresh ones, granny helped my to peel them for jam, got 7 little bottles of plum jam 😀

    Happy days for all of you. Keep your heads up, we are strong.

  7. I can’t believe I am this excited about cleaning my room! I am also planning a dreamboard and was wondering if the bedroom would be an appropriate place to put it. Thank you for answering my question. 🙂

  8. My cds and dvds are a small, favorite, already sorted collection- so I swapped out the exercise for something on my “wish list”, and catalogued all things herbal that I have: loose herbs, tinctures, oils, essential oils, and sprays. Hadn’t taken a “full”(most of it is small amounts : ) ) inventory since the beginning of the year, when I relocated them out of their glass jars, to make more travel able. Now I have the full lists in my out-and-about journal, so I can refer to it in general, and for blend making.

Leave a Reply

