2012 Great Release Challenge — Day Fourteen — Friday!


English: Fashion clothing photography for Gaie...

 

Day Fourteen! — 2012 Great Release Challenge!
by Silver RavenWolf
copyright 2012

 

One more day and we are halfway through this year’s challenge!  Whoot!  Today’s challenge concentrates on your clothing.  Now that we have worked to lighten our environment, it is time to focus on what you wear, and why.

 

Some of you are already balking, saying, “I can’t go out and buy new clothes right now, I just can’t afford it.”  No problem.  Today we are looking at what you have, and how you can re-energize your life through your choices of what you wear and how you wear it.

 

The clothing challenge encompasses the mental, spiritual, and physical area of your life.  I realize that ripped and torn clothing has become a fashion statement; however, energy-wise this type of theme often brings depression, bad luck, and misfortune.

 

Before we actually go to that closet and those dresser drawers, I’d like you to sit down, relax, and visualize yourself — how you would like to appear on the physical plane?  If you are having trouble seeing yourself in the clothes you would really like to have, use your picture and paste clothing from magazines around yourself.  In your visualization, see yourself dressed in clothes that fit, that aren’t torn, or dirty, or smell in a style that is flattering to you.  Don’t worry about brand names (unless that is important to you) — think more of theme.  If you go out today, I’d like you to look around at what other people are wearing.  Not to see brand or styles, but to pay attention to how the clothing of others affects they way they carry themselves.

 

Clothing in history
Clothing in history (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Our first physical challenge is to set up a donate box and a trash bag.  Next, go through all your clothing of the season and donate or toss anything that doesn’t fit.  Yes, I know you plan to squeeze into those jeans again; but, if you haven’t been able to wiggle into them in the last year (barring pregnancy) it is time to seriously consider letting them go.  Then, there are those items that look great on the hanger; but, look terrible on you.  Make them go away.  If you spent a fortune on certain outfits and just don’t have the heart to release them because of the money you spent, consider a consignment shop; or perhaps, Ebay.  (Just make sure they are clean before you sell them — I’m not kidding.  I bought a snowsuit last year off of Ebay and when it arrived it smelled, well, strange.  I laundered it.  Hung it up.  And never wore it because I kept remembering that offensive odor.  When I moved, I trashed it.)

 

Don’t miss the clothing that is in the laundry.  If you have piles and piles of laundry — time to catch up.  Dirty laundry attracts negativity.  If things have been particularly rocky in your household, add a pinch of basil herb to the wash water to help break up problems and wash away worries and arguments.

 

Once you’ve released the clothing that doesn’t fit, take a good look at your collection as a whole.   You’ll find that you prefer a certain theme, even though you don’t realize it.  Step back and honestly ask yourself, is this the theatrical performance that I wish embrace?

 

If you are really into it, arrange your clothing by color.  What colors do you have more of?  What does this say about your state of mind?  What does this say about your presentation to the world?  If you don’t like what you see, make note for future shopping excursions.  Arranging your clothing by color actually helps to speed the dressing process when you are rushed, and helps you to choose coordinating pieces in half the time.

 

After you have finished clearing out your clothing, sit down and once again visualize yourself in a style that you wish to present to the public.  Has this visualization changed from when you did it before you cleared out your closet?  Is your visualization more fine-tuned?

 

Finally, your clothing can be the focus of any ritual or spell for good fortune, healing, or success.  If your life seems dark right now, make a practice of putting your clothing in sunlight for about an hour to energize it.  If you are going to a big interview, event, or even a social gathering, you can always “magick” your clothing for success or protection.  Some magickal people sew amulets and charms right into the hem of clothing.  In Braucherei, it is not uncommon to create charm papers and place them in small squares of cloth that are sewn or pinned on the underside of clothing for a variety of purposes including good health, protection, or drawing the right people to you.

 

Tomorrow:  Your Choice!

 

Summary:

 

1.  Do Your Morning Braucherei Ritual and light your goal candle.
2.  Complete today’s clothing challenge..
3.  Practice your Seal of Potential Exercise.
4.  Get Ready for Tomorrow!

 

Give yourself one gold star if you did today’s physical clothes challenge.  Two gold stars if you also practiced today’s mental visualization exercise.  Three gold stars if you managed to catch up and do something you missed from the day before.  Four gold stars if you completed something on your new Wish List .  Five Gold Stars if you kept up your Speed Cleaning Exercises.    Remember, for every seven gold stars you earn, you get to treat yourself with something special!

 

Peace with the Gods
Peace with Nature
Peace Within.

 

So be it.

 

Silver

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “2012 Great Release Challenge — Day Fourteen — Friday!”

  1. Great! something I’ve been meaning to do for sometime, but just couldn’t quite let go of those favorite, yet worn out clothes. This is it, I’m gonna do it! It’s OK to go without for awhile, releasing these things will make room for new, better clothes to come. So must it be!:)

      1. When i did the undies, i cleaned and took a lot of stuff out, 2 bags of clothing and 1 of shoes, my closed is empty :), even those nighty’s i wore when i was pregnant 15 years ago had to go. I set aside 1 pair of winter boots that i really like, it needs fixing, but are so comfortable, i have really big feet, so for me to get shoes that fit nicely AND look good is a big challenge. I ve been doing a lot of stuff on my wish list, some of which i have to do everyday, like raking up those prunes (sigh) So i wasn’t entirely tooooo lazy to do anything 😀

  2. Hi Silver 🙂 I love your posts & this wonderful time of cleansing & purifying the spirit. I’m late this year however.. So I’m playing catch up. I just can’t seem to find Christmas this year. I’m lost in a sense. Since we are on day 14, which day should I focus on to help me?

    Thank you 🙂

    Karla

    Sent from my iPhone

    1. That’s entirely up to you. I would definitely read over the Morning Ritual and the Lesser Banishing Ritual to get your motor going. Then, look over the past fourteen days and see which one appeals to you first — do that one. Then, try going back to the succession of days and do what you can. I know you can do it!!!

  3. Hi Silver its paul wow I have some catching up to do I am getting to the wishlist now. I did have to release some emotional baggage I read ur story called the choice and I wasn’t u the Mom I was the child I was abused by my father n my mom had to get out n get me out so I just let go of that pain yesterday. I thank you for the story see a lot of people back then wud not believe what was going on u know denial. I have to say u touched me with that story and I thank you for bringing that out now maybe people will have more info on it but thank you Silver and BB ur friend Paul in Az

  4. well i’m still cold and tired as i was yesterday, plus i have a headache tonight, (i think i caught something, dunno what though).. so i am going to be calling it an early night yet again.. and i will do the clothes, and the yule/christmas cards tomorrow.. DEFINITELY! i dun care what it takes!! i have to go to the eye dr tomorrow and then up to l.l. beans to exchange my winter coat and get a new one.. but hopefully when i get home i have enough energy to tackle the cards, and the closet…i might have to buy some new jeans while i’m at beans, noticed the ones i have now are getting kinda .. erm.. tight… *ahem*… lol

  5. I had to smile reading today’s challenge, I’ve kept my clothes color coordinated (and organized by type of clothing) for years. I tend to dress to enhance what I am going to be doing during the day, so if I feel I need a bit of extra confidence, there are shirts I turn to, when I need comfort, other ones. I pick more for how clothes make me feel than what they say to other people.

    I did find quite a few items that I had held onto because someone gave it to me as a gift (even though I didn’t hate the clothes, I didn’t really like them and found myself only wearing them on days where I needed something that I didn’t care if it got dirty or damaged). I also had a few shirts that I kept to wear on summer vacation (around my family). My aunt gave me some new (used) things, this past summer though, so I got rid of older shirts and kept the newer ones. Even gave one to my son (it was a men’s shirt to begin with and had dragons on it, which he likes…and I haven’t worn the shirt in years).

    The hardest part for me, emotionally, was trying all the pants on. Shirts I don’t seem to outgrow as quickly, but pants get tight and it makes me own up to the fact that instead of loosing weight (which is my goal) I am gaining it. I have some shorts that I couldn’t fit in to when I packed for summer vacation, and they had been shoved back in the closet, so I got rid of those. I also got rid of a few pairs of shorts I had picked up two years ago (again for summer vacation) because I didn’t have any light shorts that fit. They worked for the summer, but I never liked how they looked on me, so those went. I also got rid of a pair of pants that I had found on clearance for a quarter, that were two sizes too small. I really looked at them and realized even if they fit me I don’t really like them. I think I only bought them because they were cheap and I could just squeeze into them when I bought them so I told myself I would loose weight and be able to wear them.

    I also did our coat closet, and got rid of an extra fleece jacket I had, an old jacket my aunt made for sewing class when she was in school (I don’t even remember how I got that one), and the hardest was my old track and field jacket…from middle school. But the memories aren’t in the jacket, I will never fit that jacket again, and there was no reason for me to have it.

    Now I think I need to have a piece of chocolate to recover!

  6. This is going to be hard for me. But I know that I cannot move forward without releasing my past. I just have to get past the thought of keeping clothes that I have bought but never worn because they were too small ( don’t you just love the fact that clothing sizes are not universal? )

    This weekend I am going to get caught up!

  7. Done. Put all non-seasonal clothes out of sight, and will eventually add to pre-existing clothes storage bin. Cut a t-shirt that can’t be donated, into 2 cleaning rags. Threw out a camisole that is basically dead, as well as 2 more pairs of underwear. Have a hoodie, a baby-doll tee, and some lace, to donate. Did a round of laundry. Did another round of laundry, this one with a pinch of basil and a few spritzes of lavender hydrosol- I worked in a kitchen this week, that was the most negative ever(Ever.), so that whole load was Cleansed, as well as cleaned. 🙂
    Hurrah! Oh, and the sit down visualization was the same both before and after the clothes cleaning, with the addition of the phrase “elongated” afterwards, as the workouts I’ve been doing have been working(to me) against my dancer’s body, and that was just another re-focusing on switching up my routine. 🙂 I have worked in the fashion industry in the Big Smoke(nyc), and very much agree with what you said Silver, about being very conscious of what “image” one chooses to put out there. People have many times mistaken me for being cash-wealthy, because of the way I carry myself, to the point of not believing me when I fell on hard times in the past few years. I do not associate my worth with my bank account, so carry myself Well, regardless of it’s contents. 🙂 Self-regard should never have a price tag.

  8. I adore the things you posted, it’s a good post and your subject is the best one. I have planned on sharing this with a lot of loved ones that I know will undoubtedly be intrigued.

Leave a Reply

