2012 Great Release Challenge — Day 6 — Thursday


Today's Challenge -- Magickal Grab Bag!
Today’s Challenge — Magickal Grab Bag!

Day Six — 2012 Great Release Challenge!
by Silver RavenWolf
copyright 2012

Let’s start today with a three minute challenge.  Don’t forget, I’m doing it, too.  Here we go!

This time I was more prepared.  Straight to my magickal shelving.  Put away the white candles I bought yesterday.  Put away two books.  Threw out trash that somehow wiggled onto the shelf.  How did you do?

Now let’s do the five minute challenge!  Go!

Trash out and hung up bells and a bow on my broom.  What did you do?

Today I added empowered bells to the broom that guards the front door.
Today I added empowered bells to the broom that guards the front door.

Your Mission Today — Grab Bag Challenge!

Today you will need twenty slips of paper or 3×5 cards and two paper bags.  On ten pieces of paper you will list one thing that you would like to physically release (we are working on the physical this week; but, if you don’t have anything physical, then emotional or spiritual will do) or a chore that needs to be done.  Make sure your selections are something that you can do today and save those bigger projects for your Wish List.  On the other ten slips of paper you will write what all is RIGHT in your life (what you are thankful for).  If you have children, or the release program is a family affair, put ten fun things (one of which you can do today) in a different bag.

Put all the papers in their appropriate bags.  Take a deep breath, relax, give thanks to Spirit, and pull one of the things you are thankful for out of that bag.  Honor what you have written, and place that paper on your altar.  With the banish bag in hand, take a deep breath, relax, and say to yourself:  “What task should I do today that will best help my present circumstances?” then reach your hand in the bag and pull out one paper.  I know this sounds like an odd question; but, sometimes, larger problems are supported by chaos.  Remove the chaos, and bigger problem either crumbles, or completely dissipates.  What did you pull from the bag?

I pulled out “Take the big box to the shed.”  Lucky for me, Samantha just arrived.  I’m going to ask her to help me take the box to the shed.  Isn’t it wonderful how…if you put your mind to it…the universe always provides a way!

You have just finished today’s challenge! OR…

You can do something from your Wish List.

For the Truly Dedicated Challenge Participant:  OR…you can go on, working through the bag.  First, use the thankful/honor bag, followed by the task/banish bag.

For Tomorrow: The toilets and the medicine cabinet.

Summary:

1.  Do Your Morning Braucherei Ritual and light your goal candle.
2.  Continue to Work with the Sea of Potential Affirmation.
3.  Practice the Speed Clean exercises.
4.  Do your Grab Bag Challenge.

Give yourself one gold star if you did today’s Grab Bag Challenge.  Two gold stars if you finished everything in your Grab Bag.  Three gold stars if you managed to catch up and do something you missed from the day before.  Four gold stars if you completed something on your Wish List . Remember, for every seven gold stars you earn, you get to treat yourself with something special!
5.  Get ready for tomorrow!!

Peace with the Gods
Peace with Nature
Peace Within.

So be it.

Silver

 

24 thoughts on “2012 Great Release Challenge — Day 6 — Thursday”

  1. three minutes…..folded the towels i left in the dryer nearly a week ago. took the lint out of the dryer,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, are you kidding me?. there was enough lint in there to knit a sweater,lol. but i am happy i got it done, my big challenge? clean out the space under the sink…….omg…i packed that little space with so much stuff. 2 half filled bottles of windex a box of sos pads that were rusted…rusted you say…..how come rusted? because i discovered my drain was leaking !!!!!!!!!!. just my luck ! one challenge turned into two ! ! ! on the up side….i saved a possible catastrophy. prevented mold from setting up residency. prevented major damage to my kitchen….thank ou Silver

  2. I tried to leave a message yesterday, maybe more luck today? for your dog what I did was buy a cheap plastic tray with a lip so it catches most of the mess and is easier to clean than a mat, also when ants are about I put water into the bottom so they can’t get to the food.Am really enjoying the challenges.xx

  3. My gosh RavenWolf you have release a whirlwind of energy today for cleaning and decluttering, not that my house is all that dirty after all it’s just me however I got down to the nitty gritty and did some deep releasing. Thank you for this challenge.
    Started my morning off by doing Braucherei ritual, candle lighting, Sea of Potential recited, and the basic speed cleaning. There is not much cleaning because I am the only one here however I decided to celebrate the last of my 3 days off in a row by making this mornning’s ritual bright and festive. All my candles were lit and music by Lisa Thief playing in the background.
    I think I may have gone a bit overboard – nah, just got lots of stuff done! Did my grab bag release and the selection was to clean my used rubber stamps – done. Grab bag what I am thankful for today….. my daughter Tonya. This is where things got real busy….. so went through every picture album and created 2 stacks one for daughter, the second one for son and put pictures that related to son’s life in an album. I also did the same for my daughter. I kept a few select pictures for myself. It has been years and years since I have looked at any of these pictures so all the pictures not in the 2 children’s albums was tossed out. I am going to give each kid their own album of childhood memories.
    Then I went into my file cabinet and cleared out folders that are obsolete. I found an old phone and put it in a plastic bag and will drop that off at the Senior Center. Cleaned the coat closet by front door…..shoes that are practically new but never wear anymore – out they go to goodwill. Purse and wallet I used 4 times and don’t use now put in GW bag. Also some nursing uniforms in excellent condition – GW bag. What a good feeling letting this stuff go. Moved to garage and vacuumed out car. I got it washed yesterday at the car wash. Last thing on my list – sweep out garage – leaves be gone!
    OK one more thing on list – balance check book – done! Off to gym for fat release program. LOL.
    Check out my blog for pictures
    http://etainbutterfly.wordpress.com/2012/12/06/day-6-of-the-great-release-challenge/

  4. Oh my….. 3 min- made the bed, put the tie-backs on the curtains, took a empty cup to the kitchen. 5 min- wash the dishes (let it airdry) 🙂 got the ingredients out to bake some rusks (it’s on my wish list)
    a woman that help me around the home for money sometimes, walked in, said she decided to come clean my brass stuff, FOR FREE. I looked at her puzzled for a moment, and she said to me “your so good to me, i decided to come do something for you” I felt bad, but remembered “for favors i pray”. (I’ll give her half the rusks…..) and thank Spirit and the Lord of the day. Sometimes its hard to accept something if your used to be the one that do the gifting. I feel so thankfull for everything that i learn from all of you and Silver.
    Bless you all.

  5. I got a lot done most of the other days but I seem to be lagging behind today. Since the challenge began this year I am beginning to see a lot of messy areas in my life as well as in my home that could do with some clearing up and I am beginning to be a bit overwhelmed by it all. We are currently experiencing a hard time financially (as well as so many other people on the planet) and it is being aggravated by all the red tape surrounding my husbands inheritance. which has been dragging on for months. I am also very unhappy about a situation I have with my own family where I am being very badly treated by my family regarding my own mothers will and I can’t do anything about it until I have the finances for legal help. its too complicated to tell the story here but its a real mess and I can’t seem to be able to do anything about it at the moment. The situation has been dragging on for 3 years and needs to be resolved.
    I have not been doing alot of the magickal work (apart from the Braucherei Morning ritual) as I have been getting really upset about these issues and I don’t want to do magick while I am feeling tired, angry, stressed or negative. I would be so grateful for any advice you could give me.
    In the meantime I refuse to give up and shall try to do as much as I can.
    Thank you so much.

    1. Valerie, just do what you can each day. Even if it’s just something for ten minutes. It will eventually add up to more organization and cleanliness which will improve energy flow. In the meantime, sending some positive energy your way and I hope things improve for you this month and in the new year.

      1. Hi Kt
        Thank you so much for your help. I actually heard briefly from my sister yesterday for the first time in nearly a year. We didn’t talk for long but will hopefully talk again during the Christmas/Yule time. It is at least some level of progress Already moving forward!

    2. Valerie, thank you for your openness in sharing.
      My personal experience, is feeling tired, angry and stressed, is when I can use with doing some magick the most. Contrary to what I may tell myself. For me, the key has been to a: adjust the magic to the need, as in, do magic *for* the feelings of being over-whelmed, tired, angry, and/or stressed, and, b: to be conscious of being gentle to myself. It’s exactly when all of this is going on, that we are most likely to be the most harsh and beat ourselves up. Think pink light. Also, doing nothing, consciously, is it’s own form of magic. Give yourself permission to let go of struggling to resolve all of your problems. Even if it’s just for an evening, or an hour. Chilling out, and watching a funny show, or a favorite movie, or a cup of tea, all count as the magick of self love. Breathe deeply. Eat well. Drink lots of water. Embrace stillness. Not solutions, I know. But those simple things, done daily, and consciously, can help shift the stagnant energy inside, so that you can better recognize opportunities, as well as better recognize traps, and avoid them, so that your difficulties at least don’t compound. And, failing that, will at least ground you enough to keep you from getting literally ill from all of the stress.

      1. Hi Anna. Thank you for all of the sound advice. I realised that I am treating life as a struggle because I am not happy at the moment with alot of things in my life so I can only work on one issue at a time and sometimes not work on any issues at all!!!! One thing I have noticed is that since I started the challenge I am starting back with crafts which I haven’ done for a long time so I am now taking time every day to do something I enjoy that is positive and good for me. I need to focus on what is good in my life and knowing that some things I cannot change right away or maybe even at all. I just visualise pink light surrounding me and yes you are right I do beat myself up. Time to let go of that. i will do every day what I can and make sure I get some of that precious me time as well! Thank you again

  6. The last couple of days were tough for me, as things (people and events) kept popping up and sucking up a lot of my valuable time I had dedicated to do this. I have not been deterred. I have to say I loved the time cleaning! I was amazed that I was able to clean out a kitchen drawer of its contents in 3 minutes and then turn around and clean this drawer, take out the deviders, throw away unwanted things and fill the drawer nice and neat in the timed 5 minute challenge! 8 minutes all together and that drawer which I try not to look at is beautiful! 8 minutes! I was unable to continue as something came up and all of a sudden its the end of the day. I did something very uncharacteristic. Last night I came home and at 11:00 I did my 20 minute speed challenge, which once i was started turned into an hour challenge, finishing cleaning up my pantry. I sat afterward and admired what I had done. I thought to myself,”What is happening to me? I feel a shift in attitude and gratitude. The aura in my home seems lighter! Although I still need to work on getting rid of more clutter, it doesn’t seem so daunting anymore. This morning when I picked out what I was thankful for, it read “Thankful I am open to change”. Yeah! Thank you Silver! I am enjoying this so much!

  7. The last couple of days my cleaning has turned into several hour long projects (once I get going, it is easy to keep going). Today, I really needed to start working on some Yule presents (I got ambitious there too, making prayer clothes for some friends…embroidered). I had previously hemmed the clothes (by hand….no sewing machine), but need to sketch my design and get it blocked in. Did the hardest pattern onto paper today and figured out where the color will go (the other two I need to do are simpler, this is the only one with lots of color and little intricate lines).

    So, since I knew I was going to need to do that (and not put it off like I have for the past couple days), I kept today kind of light. In 3 minutes I cleaned the toaster out (and found another use for those old toothbrushes I keep! great for getting stray crumbs out of the wire-works inside the toaster).

    My grab-bag gratitude was books. I swear books keep me sane. I am definitely a book lover and hoarder. Though I do have an e-book reader, there are some things that I just like paper books better for. One of my long-term projects is to read all the books I own and release those I will never read again (very hard for me to do…I live in fear of being in the mood for a particular book and realizing I got rid of it years ago).

    Interesting synchronicity: last night while relaxing in the evening, I was tackling some of the ‘go through’ stack of old magazines, and clipped an article from an old Yoga magazine about practice, and how practice is work, that building a practice was more than just thinking about things but doing them, and doing them regularly (common sense, but so easily forgotten sometimes!). But it also said that in order to release things that you want gone from your lift, it can help to focus on your blessings or what you might gain. It reminded me of today’s grab bag, because we draw from blessings first and use that to helps us release from our task bag. I also thought it interesting that it becomes a cycle, you think of a blessing, then work to release, which in turn makes room for new blessings…

    My task was to go through the suitcases I use as overflow storage in my closet. Found some purses all over, and got them all in one place (though I am considering going back through them and getting rid of some…I am not really a purse gal, yet somehow I have 5 of them! If it were up to me, I’d have a wallet that could be put in a pants pocket and keys in another pocket and off I go. Unfortunately that is no longer working as I need to carry other things, so I have been training myself to use a purse). Also a bunch of sweaters and old clothes. Most of the old clothes got put aside for Goodwill (minus one pair of sentimental shorts from an old rifle competition I was in, but the elastic was gone, so I finally was able to let them go). My mother-in-law was getting me a couple of sweaters every year for Christmas, and I rarely wear them, so I kept a few and got rid of the rest.

    Then, I had found a box that I thought would help my magical cupboard issue (too much stuff, not enough organization), so pulled everything back out (did the cupboard a couple days ago), and organized it in the box. Now it is a lot more under control!

  8. ok here’s what i got.. for the speed cleaning task.. i took out all the garbage, and then tidied up my magickal bookshelves/ supply shelves, and i managed to change my altar cloth from Samhain to Yule… ( been meaning to do that! was hoping to get to it BEFORE Yule!! lol)
    For my grab bags, for the physical task i got “Clean closet”.. *groan*.. oh alright!.. my closet was originally organized, but trying to find stored away winters sweaters that fit, found me pulling out storage bags and clothes out of them and then shoving them all back into the closet, so i could hurry up and get ready to dash off to work. SIGH! ok,, i suppose it has to be done!
    For the “thankful” task, i pulled out “I have almost no debt”.. which i am VERY thankful for… especially in this day and age where it seems everybody on the planet is in debt INCLUDING our crazy government!
    Alright…. so thats what i got and i suppose i should get to cleaning this closet now. Whats up for tomorrow? *Peeks*.. “Toilets and medicine cabinets”… OH NO!!! NOT THE BATHROOM!!! no no no! *runs and hides* I have a very old, and yucky tub… and no matter how much i scrub and wash and scrape at it.. the green goo.. mildew? around the drain and the faucet never come off!! Plus the area around the drain is all dinged and dotted and the ceramic is coming off! it’s ugly and i hate looking at it and cleaning it.
    Need a new tub/shower, but that’s gonna have to wait until next year (hopefully).. SIGH.. in the meantime i have to deal with this ugly nasty old thing! anybody have any ideas of how to get off green mildew gunk? and possibly make it stay off… YUCK!!

  9. ok so stuff is picked up from the bottom of the closet floor and put back up on the shelf. so closet isnt technically clean, more like tidy and organized looking. what i REALLY have to do is go thru all my clothes to see whats fits and what doesnt..but that’s for another day! my grab bag task is completed!!

  10. I got to wondering why you chose this time of year, when life is already crazy busy with holiday(s) and such, to do the GRP? Just curious.

  11. probably because it’s the end of the year and you have to get ready for the beginning of the next year. You want to start off the New Year fresh and clean and ready to welcome things into your life instead of still getting rid of stuff.

  12. Did the speed clean challenges for today 🙂 (I always get the BMR, goal candle, and SOP done, no matter what, everyday)
    3min: put away craft supplies from starting on Yule gifts, and tidied up the floor.
    5min: cut up food that needed to be frozen.

    The Grab bag is complicated in terms of 10 things to release/clean, so I’ll leave that til I have the energy to devote to ruminating. Have ten pieces with things I’m grateful for right now. 🙂

  13. Okay for the 3 minutes challenge I emptied the dishwasher, putting the clean ones away and then the dirty ones into it. For the 5 minute one – thinks – ummm what did I do? LOL! Oh yeah, I cleaned off my wrought iron 5 point candle holder to get it ready for the holiday candles I put on it. For the Grab Bag – didn’t get to it unfortunately. I’m trying to get caught up on the clutter that I never got to finish due to a very stressful weekend. I cleaned off the TV, the TV cabinet, my husband’s XBOX, the controllers and the games, the wireless routers, and the DVD player. Then I cleaned off one of the three book cases in the living room – wiped the outside, the glass, all the inside, dusted the books, CDs and DVDs that are in there, and dusted off the bottom shelf where our board games are kept and dusted the games off and reorganized them. I released a game I’ve had for years but have only played once because I didn’t like it. It’s in a box that I’m hoping to take to the thrift store this weekend. Not having my own vehicle sucks. While cleaning I burned candles scented as Fresh Baked Cookies and hubby found an online station playing holiday music and streamed it for me while I cleaned. I’m hoping to get the other two bookcases done tomorrow so I can put up the decorations (FINALLY!). But things are getting a bit better around here. Thanks again for the Challenge Silver!

Leave a Reply

