Silver RavenWolf

Author Blog — The Crow at the Crossroads

How To Make a Prosperity Candle out of a Fresh Orange Shell


Use the Shell of an Orange, Lemon or Grapefruit to make an Amazing Prosperity Candle!

How To Make A Prosperity Candle Using A Fresh Orange Shell
by Silver RavenWolf
copyright 2012

Years ago Lady Breid Foxsong created a chant that goes like this:

Gold and Silver
Coins Galore!
All are coming
To my door!

As I hummed the chant the other day when pouring candles, I thought, “Why not use an orange shell to punch up the power of a prosperity spell?”  Add a few Chinese good luck coins, grind in a bit of prosperity powder, sprinkle the top of the candle with gold and silver glitter to match the chant, and…ta-da!  Super charged prosperity candle!

Here’s What You’ll Need

One fresh orange

Candle wax of your choice and appropriate equipment:  I used soy because it requires only one pour and doesn’t sink.  You can purchase microwaveable soy wax at your craft store, which eliminates muss, fuss, and extra equipment if you are not a candle making enthusiast.  Most brands are an easy clean with soap and water.

Prosperity Herbs of your choice:  I used mint from my 2011 garden, cinquefoil (the Braucherei herb of good fortune), a little rosemary to clear away negativity, and chamomile.  I also chose protective cloves as a decoration.

One Waxed Wick:  that will support the diameter of your orange.

Wick Tab or glue gun:  to secure the wick to the orange, keeping it stable while pouring.

Prosperity Coins:  you can use the Chinese Good Fortune coins as I have shown here, or you can use coins from your own country.  Brand new coins (such as pennies) also encourage good fortune and prosperity.

Gold & Silver Glitter:  matches the chant above, or you can choose another color, or go without completely.

Sweet Fragrance or Essentials: to match your intent.  Honeysuckle, orange, bergamot or mint are excellent choices for prosperity.  Color can also be added.  There was no color added in the example candle.

Other supplies you may find helpful:  Tray covered with tinfoil (to catch any drips or spills when you pour the wax).  Paper towels.  Metal skewer to punch holes in orange shell so that decorative cloves can be easily inserted.

Here’s How To Do It

Choose an orange that will sit evenly on a flat surface.

Step One.  If the candle is for magickal work, cleanse and consecrate all tools, herbs, etc. in the manner in which you are most comfortable.  When you are ready, cut the orange with a sharp knife.

Pat the inside of the shell as dry as you can with a paper towel.

Step Two.  Clean out the meat of the orange from the shell with a spoon or a citrus spoon.  If you eat the orange meat, you encourage good fortune coming directly to you.

Step Three.  Pat the shell dry with a paper towel.  Remove as much moisture as you can.

Affix wick to the bottom center of the orange shell.

Step Four.  Affix wick tab to wick bottom.  Place wick in center of orange shell.  You can also use a glue gun for this step.  As the orange shell was still a bit damp when I placed the wick, it tried to slip a bit, but remained stable during the pouring process.

Step Five.  Heat wax according to manufacturer’s instructions.  Add color and scent according to product instructions.  In the example candle, I chose to use the natural color of the soy.  While the wax is melting, grind any herbs you wish to add to your final blend.  Remember that whole herbs tend to make candles unpredictable.  To ensure a safe burn, I always powder the herbs and use only a small amount of the powder in the brew.  Again, this is your choice.

Mint, cinquefoil, and chamomile are great herbs for a prosperity candle. You can also add patchouli!

Step Six.  Fill shell about three-quarters full with hot wax.  Allow to slightly cool — about fifteen or twenty minutes before adding coins.

Step Seven.  Press the lucky coins into the wax tight against the sides.  If the wax is too hot, you’ll know, because the coins won’t stay.  Conversely, if the wax is too cold, it may chip.  Take your time.

Step Eight.  When you have added all the coins you desire, continue pouring hot wax until it reaches the brim of the orange shell.

Step Nine:  Sprinkle edges of candle (away from the wick) with your empowered herbal powder.  Add gold and silver glitter.  Allow candle to cool completely.

Step Ten:  If you choose to ring your orange candle with decorative cloves, carefully insert skewer about 1/4 inch from the rim of orange to create a small hole.  The hole doesn’t have to be very deep, particularly if you are afraid of dislodging the coins around the candle.  Insert one clove into each hole.

Finished Prosperity Candle

Your candle is now ready for ritual work or spell casting!  Use Lady Breid’s chant to bring that prosperity you deserve right to your door!

Single Post Navigation

35 thoughts on “How To Make a Prosperity Candle out of a Fresh Orange Shell

  1. I LOVE THIS!!!!

  2. I love the looks of your candle! Really fun, thanks for sharing your ideas!

  3. Beautiful….I can smell the wonderful magical aroma of your candle just by looking at the photos,

  4. Elena on said:

    This is a great idea! I belong to the SVP(Susquehanna Valley Pagans) and we have added craft nights where we can get together and teach each other crafts. It has been fun and a great form of therapy for most of us. I will have to share this idea with everyone and see if we can make some of these, and bask in the manifestations.

    Blessings,
    Elena

  5. Earnie B on said:

    thanks all
    especially Gyl Leo who is a great friend
    blessed be

  6. Kit on said:

    Silver you show such wonderful and fun looking projects! I’m going to have to add this to my list of things I want to try. Thank you so much for sharing all your marvelous ideas and knowledge with us!

  7. I am seeing the Universe found a way to tell me to get back into making candles ;) Thank you for your recent posts by the way!! wonderful candle ideas!

    • Welcome! I’ve been having some fun here, too. I found that if you use an embossing gun or heat gun on the edges of the last and final pour (usually 3 for me) that it helps to keep the candles from seaming. No kidding! But, you gotta be quick! Heat up for a few seconds and pour immediately. I had to go candle by candle, but, it was worth it.

  8. Jayne on said:

    As luck would have it(pun intended),I happen to have those very same Asian coins in my household!Is the jolly Buddah made of cinnabar?He’s extraordinary!

  9. davidjamesdipardo on said:

    Wow, you’re on a roll! Have to say, I love starting my morning with your posts. This looks like a fun project, but where do you find the Chinese good luck coins? PS love that you used MS glitter, it made me smile :)
    You’re awesome!
    David

    • Of course I use MS glitter! lol The coins — actually, those I picked up at, no kidding, Michael’s. They were on a clearance endcap about a year ago. Yesterday, I picked up a great, small Buddah in the Target clearance section. You can buy the coins on-line by doing a Google search, and I think magickal vendor on Ebay also have them. Hope all is going well!

      • davidjamesdipardo on said:

        Thanks for the info, I actually picked up quite a few charms and beads in the clearance section at Michael’s a couple weeks back. I should really go through my stash and start using them lol. Thanks for all the info and ideas, you inspired me to pour candles, might even make a second batch tonight!

      • I do that, too — pick up things I think will be useful in a magickal way, even though I don’t need them at the moment. There’s this little voice that prompts me and says: Somebody’s gonna need that. lol

    • Kassi on said:

      you can find good luck coins at Michaels, in the bead section

  10. Donna Moore on said:

    This is wonderful Silver. How fun & creative. Thanks for sharing this & Blessings.

  11. starflower on said:

    i love this Silver, thank you for posting. i am going to also add elderberry flowers for prosperity, and this may sound silly but i am going to add hops as a complementary herb for “relaxation”, because i really do find the more i relax, the more things flow (and relaxing/not stressing is my eternal lesson :)
    Thanks again!!!! buying my orange tomorrow :)

  12. Silverstar_dragon on said:

    So wonderful, can’t wait to try this. Thank you for sharing. Will pin on pintrest to get more attention to this I hope you don’t mind!!!

  13. Very cool! I will have to give this a try.

  14. kacey305 on said:

    Dear Silver, I came accross this on pinterest and followed it back to the source. Great Post! I cant wait to make a bunch of these and give them to my friends as gifts.. thank you for the tutorial and ideas… :)

  15. Beautiful Candle for Oshun!

  16. Kassi on said:

    have you seen the candles made from the actual meat of the orange? the only thing that would have to change is the addition of wax, would this work?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34,557 other followers

